SRH Scored Highest(277) Run in the history of IPL: MI vs SRH
9 Min Read
SRH Score Highest(277) Run in the history of IPL: MI vs SRH
Image Credit: SRH facebook Page

Sunriser Hyderabad set the record for highest ever total of 277 surpassing RCB’s 263 and won the match by 31 runs.

Two new skippers for both sides, Hardik leading Mumbai Indians and Pat Cummins leading Sunriser Hyderabad for the 1st time. Hardik Pandya won the toss and decided to bowl first at Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad.

Both Hyderabad and Mumbai Indians have lost their first game and were looking to clinch the first 2 points in their name. In the first game, Mumbai was unable to chase the total of 169 runs scoring just 163 and Gujarat Titans won the match by 6 runs. In the first game, Sunriser Hyderabad got a total of 209 against Kolkata Knight Rider to win the match but fell short of just 4 runs and KKR won the match by 4 runs.

1st Inning

First 5 over

Mayank Agarwal and Travis Head came out to open for SRH. Kwena Maphaka a young South African debut for Mumbai Indians started pretty well for MI giving just 7 runs in 1st over.

Skipper Hardik himself came into the attack in the second over. He had almost got Travis Head in his 1st delivery but Tim David dropped it and got a boundary. Pandya got hit for 11 runs in his over.

In the 3rd over, Hardik brought Kwena Maphaka into the attack avoiding Jasprit Bumrah. Kwena Maphaka got hit for two consecutive sixes on the 3rd and 4th balls and 2 consecutive fours in the last two balls of the over by Travis Head and SRH was 40/0 after the 3rd over.

Finally in the 4th over Bumrah was brought into the attack and Bumrah bowled pretty decent given just 5 runs with no boundary.

Looking over the circumstances Hardik himself bowled the 5th over and got rid of Mayank Agarwal in the first delivery as Tim David makes no mistake this time. Mayank departed scoring 11 runs in 13 deliveries with 1 four in his name. Abhishek Sharma walked in at №3 for SRH. Despite a wicket in the first ball, Head showed no fear and respect for Pandya and went on big for 3 consecutive fours on the last 3 deliveries of the over. At the end of the fifth over SRh was 58/1.

6–10 overs

Gerald Coetzee came to bowl the last over of the powerplay and started with the No ball and Abhishek got maximum utilizing free hit. Head hit Coetzee with 2 fours and 1 six in the same over and got to his first fifty in the tournament in just 18 deliveries.SRH got the flying start in the power play as they were 81/1 at the end of the power play.

The run-hitting strategy didn’t get narrowed despite 5 fielders outside the 30-yard circle. Piyush Chawla got hit for 21 runs in his first over and SRH completed 100 in just 7 overs.

In the eighth over, Coetzee was brought into the attack and Coetzee finally dismantled the partnership, Travis Head got caught by Naman Dhir and he departed scoring magnificent 62 runs in 24 deliveries with 9 fours and 3 sixes. After the Head’s Dismissal in the 8th over SRH was 117/2.

New Batter Aiden Markaram came to bat at №4 for SRH. Hardik came for his 3rd over and conceded 11 runs in the 9th over giving 1 six and 1 four.

Despite getting expensive in the first 2 overs, Young Maphaka was brought into the attack and the results were pretty similar to the previous over. Abhishek punished Maphaka for 2 fours and 2 sixes and completed his fifty in style in style in just 16 balls making it the fastest fifty of the tournament and shattering the record of his mate Head in the same game. After Abhishek’s fiery knock, SRH were 148/2 at the end of 10 over.

11–15 over

Chawla made his comeback in the 11th over dismissing Abhishek Sharma for 63(23) including 3 fours and 7 sixes. Abhishek was caught by Naman Dhir in the last ball of the 11th over by Piyush Chawla.

Heinrich Klaasen is the new batter. Two right-handers were in the crease Hardik brought left-arm spinner Shams Mulani on. Mulani gives 12 runs in his over conceding 1 six in his over.

The most awaited Man(Bumrah) finally came to bowl the 13th over for Mumbai Indians. Bumrah bowled economical over giving just 7 runs yet remain wicketless. After 13 over SRH were already 180/3 heading eagerly toward the mark of 200. Batter left no effort in punishing the bowler and Hyderabad crowd were se ecstatic watching the performance of the team.

In the 14th over , Pandya came to bowl last over of his spell Klassen punished hardik for 1 maximum in the over and Hardik completed ended his spell for 46 runs taking 1 wicket.

Bumrah was brought back into attack to get the breakthrough as SRH were hading toward 200 mark but still Bumrah failed to end the partnership between Aiden Markaram and Heinrich Klassen. SRH completed 200 run in style punishing Bumrah for a maximum and Bumrah got hit for his first boundary in the inning. At the end of 15 over SRH were 202/3 with runrate of 13.46.

last 5 over

Coetzee was brought into attack in the last over before initiataion of death over. Coetzee gave away 12 runs in the 16th over. Srh were 216/3 at the end of 16 over.

Maphaka came to bowl his final over, Batter show no mercy to Maphaka and hit 18 runs in his last over conceding 2 fours and 1 six. Debut match became a nightmare for young south african Maphaka. Maphaka end his spell for 66 runs yet remained wicketless.

Gerald Coetzee came to bowl the 18th over for Mumbai Indian. Heinrich Klassen completed his fifty in 23 balls which is the slowest fifty of the inning. At the end of 18 over SRH were 243/3 with run rate of 13.50 marching to break the highest run ever scored 263 in the history of Ipl by RCB agaist Punjab.

Bumrah came to bowl the 19th over and last over of his spell and ended up conceding 13 runs including 2 boundaries. Bumrah completed his spell conceding 36 runs remaining wicketless. SRH were 256/3 at the end of

Mulani came to bowl the ultimate over for Mumbai Indians and Mulani started with 2 wides. SRH get past to record of RCB in 19. 3 over 2 consecutive sixes and a double at the last ball helped SRh to post highest highest-ever total in the history of IPl 277 runs.

Heinrich Klassen remains not out scoring 80 runs in 34 deliveries including 4 fours and 7 sixes. Aiden Markarama also played a brilliant knock of 42 runs in 28 balls including 2 fours and 1 six.

Inning Records

  1. Highest ever Run scored in IPL history is 277.
  2. The highest 4th wicket partnership between Heinrich Klaasen and Aiden Markram of 116 runs.
  3. Fastest 50 for SRH by Abhishek Sharma in just 16 balls.

Share this Article