Ruturaj Gaikwad Led CSK to victory for the 5th time
5 Min Read
Ruturaj Gaikwad Led CSK to victory for the Fifth time 
Image credit: CSK

Ruturaj Gaikwad led Chennai Super Kings with another victory over the strongest known batting side of IPL 2024 Sunriser Hyderabad.

Sunriser Hyderabad won the coin flip and elected to bowl first looking over the dew factor at Chepauk Stadium.

First Inning

Chennai Super Kings started with their under-test batting opener Ajinkya Rahane and Skipper Ruturaj Gaikwad. 

Chennai started average in the power play and lost their opener Ajinkya Rahane in the 3rd over. 

Daryl Mitchell was the new man who well supported Ruturaj Gaikwad. Gaikwad and Mitchell made a 107-run partnership for the second wicket with a net run rate of almost 10.

Daryl Mitchell powered a half-century in just 29 deliveries with 7 fours and a maximum. 

CSK’s Skipper Ruturaj Gaikwad played big for Chennai yet another time missing his century by just 2 runs scoring 98 runs in 54 deliveries with 10 boundaries and 3 maximum at a strike rate of 181.48.

Shivam Dube’s impactful knock of unbeaten 39 runs in 20 balls led CSK to a powerful total of 212 runs on the boards.

MS Dhoni’s late cameo added 5 runs in 2 deliveries and CsSK had 212 runs to defend against the recognized batting side SRH.

Ruturaj Gaikwad’s captain knock led CSK to the massive total of 212 runs in the boards. Chennai Super Kings had already posted 4 times 200+ score in Ipl 2024

The Runchase

Ruturaj Gaikwad-led team have big numbers posted to the board but still, there were high chances of the match getting tricky as Dew had already come into play in the second half of CSK’s batting. 

Chennai Super Kings started with Deepak Chahar and Tushar Deshpande in the power playovers. Tushar Deshpande strikes twice in his first over dismissing man-in-form Travis Head and impact player Anmol Preet Singh.

Travis head departed scoring just 13 runs in 7 balls after Daryl Mitchell took a catch at the deep point region.Anmol Preet got a golden duck in his name as Tushar Deshpande bagged him in just another deliveryin the same over after Travis Head.

Tension in the SRH dugout peaked when another batting opener Abhishek Sharma also got dismissed by Deshpande in the fourth over.  Abhishek departed for just 15 runs in 9 balls and SRH was 40/3 after the end of 4th over.

Aiden Marakaram looks to play a stabilized inning after the early dismissal of SRH top-order but Skipper Ruturaj Gaikwad brought his key pacer Matheesha Pathirana into the attack. Pathirana quietly did his work dismissing Strong-looking Aiden Markaram in the eleventh over. 

SRH was already pushed into the backfoot after 3 early wickets and the Net run rate was putting pressure on the batters in the middle. 

SRH was 117/6 after the 16th over and needed 95 off the final 4 over with 4 wickets in hand but SRH’s lower-middle order and lower-order batter completely collapsed after Pathirana dismissed Heinrich Klassen for just 20 runs in 21 balls.

Mustafizur Rahman bagged 2 wickets at the end and the recognized batting unit SRH completely kneeled against the bowling of Chennai at their home Chepauk Stadium.

SRH were bowled out for just 135 runs in the 19th over and Ruturaj Gaikwad led CSK home dominating SRH and climbing up to the points table at No 2 with 10 points and a Net Run rate of +0.972.

Chennai Super Kings had won 5 out of Nine games and will play against Punjab Kings in the next 2 matches one at their home Chepauk and another at lap of Himalayas Dharamshala.

Sunriser Hyderabad will look to move up to the table after 2 disappointing losses against RCB and CSK. SRH will play against Rajasthan Royals and Lucknow Super Giants in its next 2 matches. 

What do you think will qualify for the Playoffs from here? CSK or SRH? or both? Comments below.

Share this Article
1 Comment