Bangladesh defeat Sri Lanka at Home by 2–1: Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka
5 Min Read
Bangladesh won the match by 4 wickets and series by 2-1

Janith Liyanage’s Brilliant Century went in vain after Bangladesh beat Sri Lanka in the 3rd ODI match by 4 wickets  and win the ODI series by 2–1.

1st Innings

Sri lanka opt to bat first against the home team Bangladesh after they won the toss in Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Chattogram.

Sri Lankan opener Pathum Nissanka and Avishka Fernando came out to crease to bat against Bangladesh but Opener couldnot survive long against the tall fast bowler Taskin Ahmed. Pathum Nissanka got LBW out by Taskin Ahmed in the very first over of Taskin and 2nd over of 1st inning.

Avishka Fernando also get caught by the keeper after the ball got edged and keeper made no mistakes. Sadeera Samarawickrama who stepped in after Avishka Fernando got out, scored 14 run in 15 balls and went back to pavillion.

 Captain Kusal Mendis who stepped in as No 3 Batsmen started to build the inning but couldnot make it long and get caught out after scoring 29 runs by keeper Mushfiqur Rahim in the 18th over. Bangladesh are reduced to 74 /4 in the 18th over.

The Not out Inning of Janith Liyanage’s brillant century knock of 101 runs in 102 balls with 11 fours and 2 sixes helped Sri Lanka somehow get to a defendable targetof 235 runs in Chattogram. Apart from Janith Liyanage beautiful hundred, Charith Asalanka scored 37 runs in 46 balls , Wanindu Hasaranga scored 11 runs, and Maheesh Theekshana scored 15 runs in 40 balls helped Srilanka to reach 235 runs.

In lower order, Dunith wellalage, Pramod Madushan and Lahiru Kumara didnot make it to double digit score. Pacer Taskin Ahmed took 3 wickets on his quota of 10 over with an economy rate of 5.50. Left arm fast medium bowler Mustafizur Rahman took 2 wicket giving away just 39 runs with 1 maiden at 4.33 economy rate. Mehidy Hasan Miraz give away just 38 runs in his 10 over spell taking 2 wicket with economy eate of 3.80. Soumya Sarkar and Rishad Hossain took 1 wicket each for Bangadesh. Shoriful Islam remains wicketless despite bowling 10 over.

2nd Innings

The Bangladesh team come to chase the target with opening batsmen Anamul Haque and Tanzid Hasan. Both batsmen were looking good and slowly building the inning for Bangladesh. Anamul Haque tried to play drive shot toward cover point but caught by Avishka Fernando in th 9th over and Bangladesh lose their 1st wicket at 50/1.

Opening Batsmen Tanzid Hasan missed his well deserved century after playing so well. He hits 84 runs in 81 balls including 9 fours and 4 sixes with strike rate of 103.70. Najmul Hossain Shanto enter the crease at no.3 after fernando’s dismissal but couldnot add much in the score board and got caught by Kusal the 11th over. Went back to pavillion in scoring just single run.

Towrid Hridoy 22 runs in 36 balls with strike rate of 61.11. Mehidy Hasan’s 25 runs and Mushfiqur Rahim’s 37 runs in 36 balls with 3 fours added runs for the  Bangladesh in score board,

Rishad Hossain’s Quicker knock of 48 runs not out in just 18 deliveries including 5 fours and 4 sixes  at the end help Bangladesh achive target of 235 runs in just 40.2 over and Bangladesh won the  match by 4 wickets and  series by   2–1 against Sri Lanka.

Najmul Hossain Shanto is annouced player of the series for the ODI series between Sri Lanka and Bangladesh.

Rishad Hossain from Bangladesh is declared Player of the match for his 48 runs in 18 balls and 1/51 (9) in the 3rd match between Sri Lanka and Bangladesh

We hope you enjoyed the coverage of 3rd ODI match well. We hope to connect to you soon with another latest cricketing updates.

Share this Article
1 Comment