RCB clinch up their maiden WPL Title: RCB vs DC

7 Min Read
RCB clich up their maiden WPL title

Delhi Capitals collapsed from 64/1 to 113/10 suffering a disastrous defeat in the final of WPL 2024 against Royal Challenger Bangalore. The opening 64 runs partnership completely went in vain after Delhi Capitals crashed and got bowled  out for 113 in 18.3 overs.

1st Innings

Winning the toss first Delhi Capitals invited the guests to bowl first at Arun Jaitley Stadium in New Delhi.

The opening batsman Meg Lanning captain of Delhi Capitals and Shafali Verma enter the crease to open for Delhi Capitals. They made a good partnership of 64 runs in just 7.1 overs with a run rate of almost 10.

Shafali Verma got caught by Georgia Wareham after scoring 44 runs including 3 fours in 7.1 overs bowled by Sophie Molineux.

After Shafali departed, Jemimah Rodrigues came to bat at №3 for the Capitals but could not make a change in the scoreboards as she got out for a duck just facing 2 deliveries from Sophie Molineux. Alice Capsey who came to bat after Jemimah Rodrigues got out for a golden duck in the very similar over.

The magical 3 wickets of the top order of Delhi Capitals in an over by Sophie Molineux became the turning point of the game, Wickets started falling onward after the brilliant spell of Sophie Molineux.

 The tension in the Capital’s dugout peaked when Captain Meg Lanning who was looking quite strong even though the wickets were falling from the other end also got dismissed by misjudging the ball and got LBW out by  emerging player Shreyanka Patil in the 11th over of the game. Delhi capitals were reduced to 74/4 after captains’s dismissals.

Two wickets in the 14th over by Sobhana Asha of middle order batter Marizanne Kapp and Jess Jonasen helped RCB get full control of the game and Delhi was 6 down for just 81 runs at the end of the 14th over.

Nothing went in Delhi’s favor and the wicket kept on falling at regular intervals as RCB strict Delhi for just 113 taking two wickets in the 19th over of the game bowled by Shreyanka Patil who is also declared as the emerging player of the season for her fabulous 13 wickets.

RCB’s Bowling

Sophie Molineux destroys the top order of the Delhi Capitals single-handedly in a single over. She ends her spell for 3/20 runs at the economy rate of 5.0.

Right-arm off-break bowler Shreyanka Patil showcased her best bowling figures 4/12 (3.2) in the WPL 2024. Shreyanka Patil is the Purple cap holder for her 13 wickets in just 8 matches she played. Her team mates Sobhana Asha and Sophie Molineux ended up being 2nd and 3rd in the purple cap race.

Sobhana Asha also takes two cruical wicket giving breakthrough for the team bowling just 3 over giving 14 runs at an economy rate of 4.67. Ellyse Perry, Renuka singh, Sophie Devine, and Georgia Wareham remain wicketless in the final.

2nd Innings

In the second inning of the match Delhi Capitals with hope to defend the low target of 113 runs enter to bowl. Captain Smriti Mandhana and Sophie Devine came out to open for RCB and make partnership of 49 runs for the 1st wicket. Sophie Devine departs after scoring 32 runs in 27 deliveries including 5 fours and 1 six in the 9th overs.

Ellyse Perry came out at No .3 to bat for RCB. RCB was on easy run chage moving to clinch uo their maiden  TATA WPL title in just 2nd edition. RCB batters kept bowler  completely quite over all the match. It looked like RCB was batting completely on different surface.

Smriti Mandhana departed after scoring 31 runs in 39 balls with 3 fours. After Captains dismissals Richa Ghosh came out not just to bat but also finish the game with her 17 runs in 14 balls and Ellyse’s 35 not out in 37 balls in the 19th over of the game leding team to their maiden WPL title.

In bowling side for Delhi Capitals, Only Shikha Pandey and Minnu Mani took 1 wickets each for the DC. All other bowlers remain wicketless in the game which is the reason Delhi Capitals look nowhere competitive in the game to defend the targets.

Shikha Pandey remain economical, bowling her 4 over spell taking 1 wicket with an economy rate of 2.75.

Updates of the Tournaments.

Orange Cap Winner

Ellyse Perry is the Orange cap winner of the WPL season 2 scoring 347 runs in 9 matches with 2 fifties with strike rate of 69.40. Meg lanning from Delhi capitals stood second in the orange cap race scoring 331 runs with strike rate of 36.77 in 9 matches.

Purple Cap Winner

Shreyanka Patil from RCB is the purple cap winner with 13 wickets in 8 matches with economy rate of 7.50. Her team mates Sobhana Asha with 12 wickets and Sophie Molineux aslo with 12 wickets ended up being 2nd and 3rd in the purple cap race.

Ellyse Perry from RCB has the best bowling figure of WPL season 2 with 6/15 in 4 overs.

Meg Lanning from Delhi Capitals have the most number of fifties (4 ) in WPL season 2.

Deepti Sharma from UP Warriorz have the best batting average of 98.33 with 295 runs in 8 matches.

 We hope you enjoyed the complete coverage of finals of WPL season 2 from Public Latest. We hope to connect with you again with more cricketing updates.

Share this Article
Leave a comment