Nep A vs Ire A: Nepal won the Match by 3 Runs
7 Min Read
Nep A vs Ire A: Nepal won the Match by 3 Runs
Nep A vs Ire A Image credit : CAN

Nepal A won the match by 3 runs in epic final over thriller game in the third T20 Match against Ireland Wolves. Nepal A side and Ireland Wolves clash on the 3rd and last T20 match of the series on 1 April 2024 at TU International Stadium Kirtipur.

1st Innings

Nepal won the toss and elected to bat first in the game after losing 2 first games while chasing. Dev Khanal and Lokesh Bam opened for Nepal. Fionn Hand strikes early for Nepal dismissing Dangerous Dev Khanal for just 6 (7) in the 2nd over. Basir Ahmad was the new man in at No 3 for Nepal. 

Another opening batter Lokesh Bam also got out in a hurry following Khanal’s departure and Liam McCarthy got his first wicket. Nepal was 19/2 after both openers were back to Pavilion. Basir Ahmad and Binod Bhandari were two new men in the crease after 2 early wickets.

Tension for the Nepal A side peaked when the Skipper also got dismissed by Fionn Hand for just 11 runs playing 5 balls. Aarif Sheikh came to build the inning for the Nepal A side. Sheikh and Basir played well to get some runs on the board but Basir Ahmad got an LBW out in the 11th over by Gavin Hoey. 

Pawan Sarraf was the new man in at No 7. Pawan also departed scoring 13 runs in 11 deliveries. New man Narayan Joshi also got an unfortunate run out in the same over and Nepal was reduced to 129/6 after 15 over. 

Aarif Sheikh had completed his brilliant Half century leading Scoreboard for Nepal A side in just 29 balls. Rashid Khan came with the intent to set bars high for the Ireland Wolves in Runchase. Rashid departed scoring in the 18th over. 

Nep A vs Ire A: Nepal Batting Scorecard
Nepal’s Batting Scorecard

Kamal Singh Airee came to bat after Rashid’s departure. Rashid and Aarif played really well to finish high for Nepal. Both batters maximised the death over and set the total of 213 after losing 7 wickets in 20 overs. Aaarif Sheikh played an unbeaten Knock of 93 (48) with 7 fours and 6 sixes for Nepal missing his Century by just 8 runs. Kamal Singh Airee played a quick fiery knock of 19 runs in just 7 deliveries including 2 fours and 1 six.

The Runchase

Ross Adair and James McCollum came to open for Ireland Wolves to chase a target of 214 runs while Sagar Dhakal started with a new ball. Ireland’s opening batters started aggressively in the power play over. Both were looking dangerous but skipper brought Bipin Khatri in his second over and Khatri didn’t upset the skipper dismissing both the openers in the same over At the end of the 4th over Ireland A side were 41/2. 

Ross Adair departed scoring 31 runs in 13 balls including 5 fours and 1 six and James McCollum departed scoring just 7(7). Peter Moor and Morgan Topping were two new men in the crease struggling with a big target. Yet again Bipin Khatri strike again for Nepal A side dismissed Peter Moor for just 2 runs in 7 balls and Ireland Wolves was 48/3.

Skipper Neil Rock came to stabilize the inning for Ireland A side. The skipper departed for just 2(8)after Kamal Sigh Airee’s strike in the 8th over for Nepal and Airee got to his first wicket. Gareth Delany entered the crease as Ireland suffered a collapse of top-order batsmen in quick time while chasing the big total of 214 runs. 

Gareth Delany and Morgan Topping first established themselves in the run chase making 100 run partnership in 61 balls. Both played brilliantly for the side. Gareth Delany completed his half-century in just 26 balls. Morgan Topping also completed a half-century in just 32 balls.

Ireland Wolves had completely dominated Nepal’s bowling unit in the middle over but Pawan Sarraf took an easy catch and Rashid Khan got his first wicket. Ireland A was reduced to 181/5 after 17.4 over. Morgan Topping played great knocks of 60 (37 ) including 4 fours and 4 sixes.

A new man Gavin Hoey came to the crease when 33 were needed off 14 deliveries. Kamal Singh Airee came to bowl the penultimate over for Nepal A side. Kamal Singh Airee dismissed another set of men Gareth Delany with an LBW and Gareth Delany departed scoring 68(37) including5 fours and 5 sixes Nepal came into the dominant position after 2 quick wickets.

Coming to the Last over of the inning Ireland Wolves needed 20 runs off 6 balls and Rashid Khan came to bowl the ultimate over. A brilliant run out by Binod Bhandari dismissed Fionn Hand after a fiery knock of 22 runs in 7 deliveries. Liam McCarthy came to face the final ball but missed the ball and the Nepal A side won the match by 3 runs in a thriller last-over game. Ireland Wolves won the series by 2–1 against home team Nepal.  In first T20 game Ireland wolves had won by 21 runs and in second T20 match Ireland wolves won by 40 runs.

Nep A vs Ire A: Ireland Batting scorecard
Ireland’s Batting Scorecard

On the bowling side for Nepal, Bipin Khatri picked up 3 crucial wickets with an economy rate of 5.75. Kamal Singh, Narayan Joshi, and Rashid Khan picked 1 wicket each for Nepal. Basir Ahmad and Sagar Dhakal remain wicketless. 

Nepal and Ireland wolves will play another an OD series click here to se full match schedule:

Share this Article
Leave a comment