CSK vs RCB: CSK Won By 6 Wickets

5 Min Read
Image Credit: Chennai Super Kings Official Fcebook Page

1st Inning

Winning the toss at the M.A Chidambaram Stadium du Plesis opted to bat first. Virat Kohli and Faf du Plessis enter the crease to open for RCB. CSK bring their pacer Deepak Chahar to open for Csk. Deepak opened the tournament with the wide. 

RCB started very well and was going very well until Mustafizur was brought into attack at the fifth over. Mustafizur gave a breakthrough for CSK dismissing Dangerous du Plessis at 49–1. Duplesis departs after scoring 35 runs in just 23 deliveries including 8 fours. 

Rajat Patidar entered the crease at No 3 but could not do much and got out for a duck in the very same over of Mustafizur Rehman.

Deepak dismissed Maxwell for a golden duck in his 3rd over and RCB is reduced to 42/3.

A brilliant combination catch from Rachin Ravindra and Ajinkya Rahane dismissed Kohli in just 21 runs in 29 deliveries. Mustafizur didn’t stop there and clean-bowled Cameron Green at 18(22). 

Dinesh Kartik came to bat at no 7 to stabilize the inning with Anuj Rawat and played so well developing a partnership and build the inning for RCB to make a respectable total. Tushar Deshpande got hit for 25 runs in the 18th over of the inning.

A brilliant Partnership between Anuj Rawat and Dinesh Kartik led RCB from a respectable to a very strong position to defend a total of 174 runs.

Mustafizur picked up 4 wickets for CSK in his 4-over spell giving away just 29 runs with an economy rate of 7.25. Spin Bowler Jadeja remains the most economical for CSK giving just 21 runs with an economy of 5.25. Deepak Chahar only dismissed Glenn Maxwell for a golden duck and completed his spell by giving away 37 runs. 

Run Chase 

Defending Champion CSK came to chase the target of 174 runs with opening batsman Captain Ruturaj Gaikwad and Rachin Ravindra in the absence of regular opener Devon Conway.

CSK started very well with both opening batsmen looking set. Rachin Ravindra looks very aggressive in the power play. Yash Dayal breaks the opening partnership of CSK dismissing Ruturaj Gaikwad for just 15 runs in 15 balls at 3.4 over. 

Ajinkya Rahane joins Rachin Ravindra who was already playing aggressively. Rachin Ravindra’s aggressive approach was sidelined by Karn Sharma as he got caught at deep square leg by Rajat Patidar scoring 37 runs in just 15 balls including 3 sixes and 3 fours.

New Zealand Batting Allrounder debuting for CSK came to the crease after the departure of Rachin. Daryl Mitchell was looking strong and comfortable against RCB bowlers until Cameron Green was brought into the attack. Green dismantled the partnership by dismissing Daryl Mitchell for 22 runs in 18 deliveries in the 13th over of the game and CSK were 110/4.

Shivam Dube came as an Impact player in the game in place of Mustafijur Rahman and started building innings with Ravindra Jadeja. The inning was not just developing for CSK It was the game slipping from RCB’s hand. Shivam Dube’s Not out 34 runs in 28 runs including 4 fours and 1 six with Jadeja’s 25 runs in 17 balls lead the defending champion to their 1st win at Chepauk.

On the bowling side, the RCB bowler looked very average in the game. They were never heavy in the batters of CSK. RCB’s main bowler Mohammad Siraj remains wicketless giving away 38 runs in his 4-over spell at an economy rate of 9.50. 

Cameron Green picked up 2 valuable wickets Ajinkya Rahane and Daryl Mitchell giving away 27 runs in 3 overs. Yash Dayal who was brought in as an Impact player in the 2nd inning also picked up 1 wicket. Alzarri Joseph, Mayank Dagar, and Glenn Maxwell remain Wicketless bowling 3.4, 2, and 1 over respectively.

CSk won the 1st match against RCB by 6 wickets at home in the 18th over of the game. Gaikwad start the tournament with the victory.

Mustafizur Rahman is the ‘PLAYER OF THE MATCH’ against RCB for his brilliant 4 wickets for just 29 runs in 4 overs.

Share this Article